GSO Test

History AT STM

Key Stage 3

Throughout the Key Stage 3 course, pupils are taught how to deal with sources and evidence, explain causation of events, interpret characters and major occurrences, argue relative significance of events and developments, identify continuity and change, and deal with diversity and culture in the UK and further. Students are taught in chronological units across Key Stage 3 to give a broad and comprehensive historical overview.

There are three Key Study Units

Year 7: Study Unit 1 1066 – 1485

Year 8: Study Unit 2 1509 – 1665

Year 9: Study Unit 3 1750 – 1950

Key Stage 4

GCSE History (from 2016)

The GCSE course studied is History A provided by the Edexcel Examination Board. The pupils are required to sit three examination papers comprising of short and long responses and source analysis.

Through the GCSE course pupils will develop the ability to recall, select, organise and deploy knowledge of the periods studied; and communicate it through detailed description, analysis and explanation.

There are 4 Units of study at KS4

Unit 1 : Modern Depth Study: Weimar and Nazi Germany 1918 – 1939

 Unit 2: British Thematic Study: Medicine in Britain, c1250–present and The British sector of the Western Front, 1914–18: injuries, treatment and the trenches.

 Unit 3 : Period Study: Super Power Relations and The Cold War 1941 -1991

 Unit 4 : Depth Study: Henry VIII and his ministers 1509 - 1540